Table tennis is a complex sport with lots of rules that can be hard for beginners to understand. In this article, we will answer in-depth everything about hitting the net in table tennis. Not only the ruling of such play, but also the positives of rolling the ball over the net.
Can You Hit the Net in Table Tennis?
It is allowed to hit the net with the ball in table tennis, but it has to roll over and hit the other side of the table afterward. If it just hits the net then your side, or goes off the table, the point is awarded to your opponent.
What Happens When You Hit the Net?
If you hit the net with the ball, and it rolls over to the other side of the table, there are two possible scenarios. The first is that your opponent hits it before it goes off the table on your side, in which case they get the point. The second scenario is that you or your opponent hits it before it falls off the table on your side, in which case the point is awarded to you.
Positives of Hitting the Net
There are a few reasons why you might want to hit the net with the ball on purpose. The first is that it can be used as a way to slow down the pace of the game. If you hit the ball softly over the net, it will have a hard time going all the way to your opponent’s side. This can be useful if you are trying to make them tire so that you can win the match.
Another reason is that it can be used as a surprise attack. If your opponent is not expecting it, they might not be able to react in time and you can win the point.
Lastly, hitting the net can be used as a way to change the direction of the ball. If you hit it at an angle, the ball will spin and might end up going off the table on your opponent’s side.
Does the Ball Have to Go Over the Net?
No, the ball does not have to go over the net in table tennis. However, if it hits the net and goes off the table on your side, then your opponent gets the point.
Hitting the net is a common occurrence in table tennis, especially for beginners. It can be used as a strategy to slow down the game or surprise your opponent. Just remember that if the ball hits the net and goes off the table on your side, your opponent gets the point.
Can You Hit the Ball Around the Net?
Yes, you can hit the ball around the net in table tennis. As long as it touches the opponent side of the table afterward. This is an extremely hard shot to hit though, even more so during an actual match. Pros have been using this strategy for years though, to surprise their opponents. May be a fun thing to put into practice!
Tips For Not Hitting the Net
There are a few things you can do to make sure you don’t hit the net in table tennis. The first is to practice your swings. Make sure you are swinging at the ball correctly and not too low or too high. The second is to pay attention to where the net is. If you are hitting the ball too hard, it might go over the entire table. The third is to practice your aim. Make sure you are hitting the ball where you want it to go and not too close or too far from the net.
Can You Roll the Ball Over the Net?
Yes, you can roll the ball over the net in table tennis. This is a common way to change the pace of the game or surprise your opponent. If you hit the ball softly over the net though, it will have a hard time going all the way to your opponent’s side.
Can You Hit the Net in Table Tennis?
Yes, but only if the ball rolls over and hits the opponent’s side of the table. If it does not the ball is considered defeated and the point goes to your opponent.
Hitting the net on accident will happen a lot in your table tennis games, whether you want it or not. That’s why when you watch games you often see the players throw up a hand in the air, to alert “sorry, that was lucky” – typically after the ball has rolled over the net in their favor.
You’re going to have to get used to it, and keep practicing if you lose a lot of points hitting the net during games. One common thing leading to this is when your opponent uses backspin, if you don’t return it the right way the ball will dip down into the net. We have written an entire guide on returning backspin though, make sure to give it a read!
*The header picture in this article is taken from here!
I have been in the table tennis sphere for over 10 years. I started playing when I was young, playing tournaments and competitions all over the country. Then my during my young adult years I stopped playing, to later pick it up when I grew older.
Over the years I’ve loved testing new gear, I’d say that’s one of the things that kept me interested in the sport. Long pips, short pips, speed glue on slow blades, heck, I’ve tried it all! That’s why I accepted the spot as the head writer on this blog, to inform all you asking those questions!